24
Feb
09

Flex “Workspace in use…” error – arg!

Most annoying thing about Flex Builder. If I work for a while in Flex, then quit and try to start Flex again it says “Workspace in use or cannot be created, blah blah”.

I can then either restart the pc  or use task manager to quit process “Javaw”.  I’m running FB 3.2 on Win XP (all patches and service packs thank you). It’s not a huge hassle to quit that process, it just seems like an unnecessary bug in a 3 point 2 version of a major application.

Has anyone found a workaround or perhaps knows what the cause is? A search showed that I’m not the only one annoyed by it, but there doesn’t seem to be a fix yet.

2 Responses to “Flex “Workspace in use…” error – arg!”


  1. 1 junp
    May 7, 2009 at 7:45 am

    Since Flex Builder is a java program based on eclipse, it sounds like it is not shutting down correctly. Closing flex should close javaw.exe. Javaw.exe (the java runtime) is still active and holding some sort of lock on the workspace.

    I get this error if I kill flexbuilder.exe in the task manager but leave javaw.exe running ( better to kill javaw.exe.. that takes down flexbuilder). I don’t have a fix because I rarely get the problem. I don’t remember if flexbuilder runs with the current java runtime or if it has it’s own installed. Might want to look into updating java???

    • May 7, 2009 at 7:53 am

      Thanks for the input. Have to check about the java runtime – I’m not sure either if flexbuilder keeps it’s own or uses the general installed one. I do keep the system-wide java runtime up to date.


Leave a Reply

